Update personal projects

Photo by Chris Ried on Unsplash

Update personal projects

Sets in Python part 2

First, I haven't published the second part of my article about sets in Python because I haven't decided if continue using Replit or move to use gist or markdown code blocks to illustrate the examples.

I'm still searching for a job, but I'm not looking actively because I don't think I'm good enough for some of the positions I want to postulate. This leaves us to some of the projects I currently working on.

My portfolio API

This is the first of the projects I'm working on. This project as the name says is an API for a future website of my portfolio, I'm coding it in FastAPI for the API and Beanie to connect to a MongoDB database.

The purpose of this API is purely to get information on the skills and projects stored in the database so the front end can show them. I decided to do this because I don't see the necessity for the front end of a portfolio website to have the ability to change the database given that its primary function is to showcase the skills and projects of a person, in this case me.

To modify the database I want to create a CLI tool, using Typer, from the creator of FastAPI; or do it manually.

Personal inventory

The second project I'm working on is a web app to have a personal inventory, for personal inventory I'm referring to a set of skills, knowledge, and competencies that I have, want to have, or I'm improving. Also, I'm including places of great interest to me, in the sense of my job search, where those skills are required or could help me to land a job there.

For this project, I'm using FastAPI again for the APi and SQLAlchemy to connect to an SQLite database. I'm still deciding if the front end stays in the same repository or another repository.

If any of you want to help me develop those projects or want to know how you can use them for your own, you can leave a comment here or contact me on Twitter, I'm not planning on calling it X, for the moment; send me an email or raise an issue in GitHub on the respective project.

This will be all for the moment, before leaving I would love your opinion on using Replit for the code examples in my posts.